Latest News

2017-2018 Board of Directors take their Oath of Office

On Friday, May 27, 2017 the Nova Scotia School Boards Association Board of Directors were affirmed by Justice of the Peace Elise Levangie. Congratulations to the 2017-2018 Board of Directors!

  • Hank Middleton, President
  • Dave Wright, Vice President
  • Susan Ritchie, Past President
  • Jackie Foster, Annapolis Valley Regional School Board
  • Sandra Margettie, Cape Breton-Victoria Regional School Board
  • Adam Davies, Chignecto-Central Regional School Board
  • Marthe Craig, Conseil scolaire acadien provincial
  • Gin Yee, Halifax Regional School Board
  • Vernon Simms, South Shore Regional School Board
  • Richelle MacLaughlin, Strait Regional School Board
  • Andrea Huskilson-Townsend, Tri-County Regional School Board

The NSSBA is also pleased to be working with Affiliate Members from the Black Educators Association and Mi'kmaw Kina'matnewey.

Hector Montgomery Award Presented to Kenneth Gaudet

ken croppedThe NSSBA Montgomery Award was established to honour the founder of the association, Hector Montgomery. Each year this award is presented to a school board member to recognize outstanding board member service.

This year’s recipient of the Montgomery Award is Kenneth Gaudet from the Conseil scolaire acadien provincial. For the past 14 years, he has served as President of his board.

Kenneth has worked tirelessly to advance French education in Nova Scotia. Through his work as a teacher and superintendent at the former Conseil scolaire Clare-Argyle School Board, he contributed greatly to education in southwestern Nova Scotia. Kenneth was also Executive Director of the French Language Branch at what was formerly the Department of Education.

Upon his retirement, Kenneth continued using his expertise to help CSAP students across the province succeed.

Policy development is one example of Kenneth’s dedication to education. He often volunteers to draft policies for the committee that undertakes this task. This involves countless hours of research and writing, but Kenneth is more than happy to perform the work. He has also undertaken a review of all board policies.


2017 AGM and Conference Registration Open!

Registration for the 2017 Annual General Meeting and Conference is now open!

Click HERE to register

To view the program overview, click HERE

Changing of the Tide: Conversations on Mental Health, Wellness and Resilience

Join us at the 63rd NSSBA Annual General Meetings to take part in educational and inspiring conversations focused on mental health literacy, determinants of wellness, and the role of resilience to more effectively respond to the changing needs of students. The Strait Regional School Board is pleased to announce Dr. Stan Kutcher, internationally renowned expert in adolescent mental health as the keynote speaker.

For accommodations, please call 1-877-782-9289.

NSSBA 2017 AGM & Conference

Poster Changing of the tide final

School Bus Safety Student Video Contest Winners!

Congratulations to Rhylyn MacInnis, Caelan Shaw, and Jasmine Metzler, winners of the 2016 School Bus Safety Student Video Contest! Pictured below are Caelan Shaw and Jasmine Metzler with Safety Services Nova Scotia CEO, Jackie Norman, and NSSBA President, Hank Middleton, and Rhylyn MacInnis with her brother, Anthony.

Video contest winners

School Bus Safety Week

Students at Greenfield Elementary in New Waterford celebrated School Bus Safety Week with a visit from Buster the Bus, and school bus evacuation drills! Special guests enjoyed seeing school bus safety artwork, and hearing some safety tips from the students. 

Motorists passing stopped school buses continues to be a problem in Nova Scotia, and these students are dedicated to reminding everyone, "When the lights are flashin', don't be passin'!"

Website collage

2016 Montgomery Award Recipient

IMG 5131 resizedThe NSSBA Montgomery Award was established to honour the founder of the Association, Hector Montgomery. Each year this award to presented to a school board member to recognize outstanding board member service. The selection committee includes professionals from a variety of different backgrounds outside of the education community.

This year’s recipient of the Montgomery Award is Sue Ritchie from the Annapolis Valley Regional School Board. Sue is currently serving her second term as NSSBA President, is the Vice Chair of the AVRSB and sits on a number of committees in her board, provincially and nationally.

For the past six years Sue has served as Vice Chair of her board. In this role she has developed leadership skills and is well respected and trusted by her fellow school board members. Her board members describe Sue as a contemplative, and insightful collaborative team member.

Her committee work is extensive, serving on multiple school board committees, including Education, Operations, Suspension Appeal, Finance & Audit and Human Resources. Sue's passion, knowledge and understanding of school board business has made her a valuable committee member over the years.


New President and Vice President of NSSBA

At the NSSBA Annual General Meeting on Friday, June 3, 2016, two new members of the executive were named. Hank Middleton of Conseil scolaire acadien provincial was acclaimed President of the Association, and Dave Wright of Halifax Regional School Board, Vice President.

Mr. Middleton had previously held the position of Vice President of NSSBA, and Dave Wright was Treasurer. Both members bring valuable experience to their positions and look forward to continuing their work with the NSSBA.

A new Board of Directors took their oath of office at the banquet dinner on Friday night. The 2016-2017 Board of Directors are:

  • Hank Middleton, President
  • Dave Wright, Vice President
  • Susan Ritchie, Past President
  • Jackie Foster, AVRSB
  • Sandra Margettie, CBVRSB
  • Susan MacQuarrie, CCRSB
  • Blair Samson, CSAP
  • Christy Linders, HRSB
  • Vernon Simms, SSRSB
  • Richelle MacLaughlin, SRSB
  • Elizabeth Acker, TCRSB